The Columbia River Treaty, signed in 1964 between Canada and the United States, resulted in the creation of four treaty dams: Hugh Keenleyside, Duncan and Mica in southeastern British Columbia, and Libby in Montana. The dams created the Arrow Lakes, Duncan, Kinbasket and Koocanusa reservoirs, which displaced 2,300 Basin residents.

Twelve Basin Stories videos explore the lives of Basin residents before, during and after the construction of the Columbia River Treaty dams. Hear the experiences and perspectives of people of all walks of life, including displaced residents, dam workers, First Nations people, elected officials, historians and former BC Hydro employees. View historical photos that touch upon everything from building the dams, to agricultural life, to the arrival of electricity.